Skip to main content

How can I fix an unauthorized charge?

Read on for help.

Written by Abheek Pandoh

[IMPORTANT] Please note that we cannot provide refunds for purchases made on iOS or Android devices. If you need a refund on iOS or Android, please refer to this Apple article or this Android article for help with requesting your refund.

Also, "unauthorized" means your card got stolen or lost. If your card got charged after you started a free trial, the charge is not unauthorized as you consented to being charged when you initiated your trial.

Charged after canceling

You will receive a refund if you cancel your subscription within 24 hours of renewal or initial subscription based on our refund policy here. If you believe there is an issue with your account, please send our team a message so we can help (if you're already chatting with us, just reply here).


Charged but don’t have a Knowt account

Tip: Check with people in your household who may have access to your payment method or are authorized to use your payment method. Since Knowt is a study tool, sometimes children or other family members may sign up for Knowt for school, resulting in accidental charges.

  • If the charge was incurred accidentally through the Knowt website or Google Play Store, you can follow this article to request a refund.

  • If the charge was incurred accidentally through the Apple App Store, you'll need to request a refund from Apple. Since they accepted your payment, they will handle your refund request.

  • If you never signed up for Knowt, and neither did anyone in your household, please send our team a message right away. If you're already chatting with us, just reply here. If not, open the chat bubble on help.knowt.com; you don't need a Knowt account. We’re here to help with your refund request.


Charged a different amount than expected

Knowt offers several subscriptions, each at different prices: Student Ultra and Teacher Ultra. These plans are available at annual or monthly subscription intervals.

If you see a charge that’s a different amount than you expected, you may have accidentally purchased a different subscription than you intended. No worries! Send our team a message (if you're already chatting with us, just reply here) and we can help adjust the price, if needed, and get you onto the right plan.

As we continue to develop Knowt, plans and prices may change. Whenever we change plans or prices, we’re always focused on improving Knowt, investing in the quality study experience we hope makes every student unstoppable.
​

Note: We got rid of our Plus plan in July 2025, as most of the features are now being offered in the free version of Knowt! If you were previously on the Plus plan you may have gotten charged $59.99 because you were moved over to a 1 month trial of Knowt Ultra at the end of July 2025. We sent out emails to all users letting them know of the change, and reminding them to cancel before the end of the trial.


Multiple charges

Multiple charges may mean that you’ve signed up for Knowt more than once. We’ll be happy to help check to see if you’ve accidentally signed up for multiple accounts. Just reach out to us for more help as shown below.

If you have any more questions, send our team a message. If you're already chatting with us, just ask here. Otherwise, open Profile in the bottom-left corner of Knowt, click Help and choose Contact Support.


Charged Immediately after starting a Free trial

When starting a free trial, we may create a prior authorization charge for your account. It is automatically refunded without any fees taken out. It is charged to make sure the card provided is valid in case the trial converts to a subscription.

Did this answer your question?